2014 Recipient Winners

Name Institution
Ms. Beth Ann Frost Auburn University
Ms. Christine Bui Colorado State University
Ms. Brett Robinson Cornell University
Ms. Beth Bystrom Iowa State University
Mr. Kyle Clymer Kansas State University
Ms. Lauren Stump Louisiana State University
Ms. Samantha Dawson Michigan State University
Mr. Tyler Scott Mississippi State University
Mr. Robert Loose North Carolina State University
Mrs. Taylor Foshee Oklahoma State University
Mr. Johnathan DenHerder Oregon State University
Mr. David Zimmer Purdue University
Ms. Ricci Ann Karkula Texas A&M University
Ms. Sarah Mendillo The Ohio State University
Ms. Alycia Bille Tufts University
Ms. Lauren Celestin Tuskegee University
Ms. Shirley Chen University of California – Davis
Mr. Geoffrey Landau University of Florida
Ms. Heidi Morton University of Georgia
Ms. Stacey Piotrowski University of Illinois
Mr. Chris Thomson University of Minnesota
Ms. Allison Rohde University of Missouri
Mr. Stephen Cole University of Pennsylvania
Ms. Jessica Rogers University of Tennessee
Ms. Kristi Takasaki University of Wisconsin
Mr. James Murray VA-MD Reg. College of Vet Med
Ms. Carlie Gordon Washington State University
Ms. Natalie Nguyen Western University of Health Sciences
Ms. Jessica Belyk University of Calgary
Ms. Patricia Seaton University of Guelph
Ms. Azureen Erdman University of Prince Edward Island
Ms. Nicole MacDonald University of Saskatchewan


WVC is proud to present the Dr. Jack Walther Leadership Award, recognizing veterinary students who portray leadership and promote a lifelong professional service. This annual award is bestowed upon thirty-three DVM Students from various universities, who are actively involved and show a long-term leadership potential. To be considered for this award, please see below for requirements and application. If you have any questions, please contact Sandi Schroder at s.schroder@wvc.org or 702.443.9257.


  • Applications from 3rd-year veterinary students attending accredited North American schools/colleges and 4th-year veterinary students attending the Université de Montréal Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire will be accepted.
  • Recipients will receive a $1,000 award, complimentary registration, lodging, airfare, and a daily stipend to attend the 2015 Western Veterinary Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada on February 15–19, 2015.
  • Students must be able to attend the WVC Annual Conference to receive the award as a 3rd-year student.
  • Each award recipient is also entitled to one additional complimentary registration to a future Annual Conference to be utilized within five years following graduation from veterinary school.

Important Dates

  • Applications due by September 15, 2014.
  • Recipients will be notified on October 15, 2014.
  • WVC Annual Conference – February 15-19, 2015
Apply Here