Dr. Jack Walther Leadership Award

2018 Recipients


Name Institution
Camille Roemhild Auburn University
Claire Tucker Colorado State University
Jeremy Eule Cornell University
Holly Salzbrenner Iowa State University
Brett A. Montague Kansas State University
Ashley Rose Kotran Lincoln Memorial University
Joseph Kamper Louisiana State University
Katelynn Youatt Michigan State University
Katherine H. Larson Mississippi State University
Eba Kim The Ohio State University
Erin Beasley North Carolina State University
Jesse Caitlin Alexis Jenny Oklahoma State University
Emily Mangan Oregon State University
Mary Jordan Purdue University
Kimberly Reid Ross University
Meagan E. Bilotta St. George’s University
Brandon Nettles Texas A&M University
Lauren Unger Tufts University
Aaron Judson Tuskegee University
Paige Livingston University of CA-Davis
Christina M. Jeffries University of Florida
Matthew C. Tanner University of Georgia
Darcy Stephenson University of Illinois
Kristen E. Capen University of Minnesota
Emily C. Brookshire University of Missouri
Linnea M. Tracy University of Pennsylvania
Alisha Pedersen University of Tennessee
Rachel O’Leary University of Wisconsin
Kelly C. Freudenberger Cantanzaro VA/MD Reg. College of Vet Med
Drew Asher Fleischman Washington State University
Tolulope Olagbaju Western University
Kenny May University of Saskatchewan
Jolene Ann Vermeulen University of Prince Edward Island
Laura Hartman University of Guelph
Rachel Gauvin Universite de Montreal

2018 Veterinary Technician Recipients

Name Institution
Clair A. Sauer Harcum College-Veterinary Technology Program
Marie Gabriella Madaras Bel-Rea Institute of Animal Technology Vet Tech Program


WVC is proud to present the Dr. Jack Walther Leadership Award, recognizing veterinary students who display leadership values at their school. This award is bestowed upon 37 DVM students attending AVMA-accredited universities who are actively involved and show long term leadership potential at their veterinary college or school.

Additionally, two Veterinary Technician students are selected to receive the Award via NAVTA. Please see below for requirements to be considered for this Award. Contact Ms. Dawn Casagrande-Terry at 866.800.7326 with questions.


  • 3rd year veterinary students are eligible for the award.

  • Students must be able to attend the WVC 91st Annual Conference February 17-20, 2019 at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas, NV to receive the award.


  • Recipients receive a $1000 stipend, complimentary registration, lodging, airfare, meal vouchers, and $250 travel allowance to attend the WVC 91st Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada on February 17-20, 2019.

  • Recipients are entitled to one additional complimentary registration to a future WVC Annual Conference to be utilized within five years following graduation from veterinary school.

  • Recipients receive a complimentary one-year subscription to the WVC Learning Library including Annual Conference Notes (2010-2018), hundreds of streaming videos, audio recordings, and podcast episodes.

How to Apply

  • Please contact Ms. Dawn Casagrande-Terry at dct@wvc.org

Important Dates

  • WVC recipients to be announced November 12, 2018
  • WVC Annual Conference February 17-20, 2019